Amazon’s ‘Lord Of The Rings’ To Debut Weekly Episodes Starting September 2022; Season 1 Wraps Filming

Amazon made waves when they announced they had secured the television rights to tackle a new Lord of The Rings series, even more incredible have already agreed to a five season commitment which makes it one of the most expensive shows to be ever produced. Lord of The Rings takes place many many years before the events of Peter Jackson’s films, in the Second Age of Middle-Earth.

Season 1 is expected to take place before the rise of The Dark Lord Sauron and Mordor, focusing on multiple ancient kingdoms that eventually fell before the events of The Hobbit/Lord of The Rings. One of the most anticipated elements will be the exploration of the ancient island kingdom of Númeno, J.R.R. Tolkien’s take on the Atlantis myth, a sect of men that would be twisted by Sauron leading to the island to sink into the water.

The new epic drama brings to screens for the very first time J.R.R. Tolkien’s fabled Second Age of Middle-earth’s history. Beginning in a time of relative peace, thousands of years before the events of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings books, the series follows an ensemble cast of characters, both familiar and new, as they confront the long-feared re-emergence of evil to Middle-earth.

Amazon has announced today that Season 1 has wrapped filming in New Zealand and will start airing weekly episodes on September 2, 2022. So we’ll have quite the wait before we get to watch these episodes.

The highly anticipated, yet-to-be titled Amazon Original The Lord of the Rings television series will premiere Friday, September 2, 2022 on Prime Video in more than 240 countries and territories worldwide, with new episodes available weekly. Filming of Season One completed today in New Zealand.

It’s cast consists of Cynthia Addai-Robinson, Robert Aramayo, Owain Arthur, Maxim Baldry, Nazanin Boniadi, Morfydd Clark, Ismael Cruz Córdova, Charles Edwards, Trystan Gravelle, Sir Lenny Henry, Ema Horvath, Markella Kavenagh, Joseph Mawle, Tyroe Muhafidin, Sophia Nomvete, Lloyd Owen, Megan Richards, Dylan Smith, Charlie Vickers, Leon Wadham, Benjamin Walker, Daniel Weyman, and Sara Zwangobani.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: